Join us in person and online for Firebase Summit on October 18, 2022. Learn how Firebase can help you accelerate app development, release your app with confidence, and scale with ease. Register now

Add and remove testers in App Distribution

Stay organized with collections Save and categorize content based on your preferences.

This document describes how to add and remove testers in App Distribution, including the following tasks:

Add and remove testers from a Firebase project

You add and remove testers in the Testers & Groups tab of the App Distribution page in the Firebase console.

If you have a large number of testers, you can use groups to more easily manage tester access to releases. To learn more, see Add and remove testers from a group.

Tester limits

Firebase App Distribution has the following tester limits:

  • Add a maximum of 500 testers to a Firebase project

  • Add a maximum of 200 testers to an App Distribution group

To add more testers, request a no-cost limit increase.

Add and remove testers with the Firebase App Distribution API

You can use the testers.batchAdd and testers.batchRemove endpoints in the Firebase App Distribution API to add or remove testers from App Distribution using an HTTP request to the App Distribution API.

Add and remove testers from a group

You can add and remove testers from groups in the Testers & Groups tab of the App Distribution page in the Firebase console. Groups are useful for managing access to releases for a large number of testers. For example, you could create a group to grant a small group of testers access to an early release of an app. Once you implement feedback from the initial tester group, you can create a group for a larger number of testers.

When you add or remove testers from a group, those testers gain or lose access to all of the releases which were distributed to that group.

Remove a tester from a group

When you remove a tester from a group:

  • The tester is removed from all releases that they had access to exclusively via the group from which they were removed.
  • If the tester is a member of a different group which also has access to a release, the tester retains access to that release.

Delete a group

When you delete a group, all of the testers in that group are removed from all releases that they had access to exclusively via that group. In most cases, group deletion occurs almost immediately; but if you have a large number of testers and releases, the group delete can take longer. After you delete a group, it is no longer listed in the App Distribution page of the Firebase console.

Deleting a group may not take effect immediately; after you delete a group you might temporarily see individual testers from the deleted group listed as having access to a specific release.

Next steps