This document describes how to add and remove testers in App Distribution, including the following tasks:
- Add and remove testers from a Firebase project
- Add and remove testers with the Firebase App Distribution API
- Add and remove testers from a group
Add and remove testers from a Firebase project
You add and remove testers in the Testers & Groups tab of the App Distribution page in the Firebase console.
Once a tester is added to your Firebase project, you can add the tester to groups. Testers who are removed from a Firebase project lose access to all releases in your project. You can also add or remove testers when setting up a distribution of your app. To learn more about adding and removing testers, see Use the Firebase CLI and Use fastlane. You can also use the Firebase App Distribution API.
If you have a large number of testers, you can use groups to more easily manage tester access to releases. To learn more, see Add and remove testers from a group.
Firebase App Distribution has the following tester limits:
Add a maximum of 500 testers to a Firebase project
Add a maximum of 200 testers to an App Distribution group
To add more testers, request a no-cost limit increase.
Add and remove testers with the Firebase App Distribution API
You can use the
testers.batchRemove endpoints in the
Firebase App Distribution API
to add or remove testers from App Distribution using an HTTP request to the
App Distribution API.
Add and remove testers from a group
You can add and remove testers from groups in the Testers & Groups tab of the App Distribution page in the Firebase console. Groups are useful for managing access to releases for a large number of testers. For example, you could create a group to grant a small group of testers access to an early release of an app. Once you implement feedback from the initial tester group, you can create a group for a larger number of testers.
When you add or remove testers from a group, those testers gain or lose access to all of the releases which were distributed to that group.
Remove a tester from a group
When you remove a tester from a group:
- The tester is removed from all releases that they had access to exclusively via the group from which they were removed.
- If the tester is a member of a different group which also has access to a release, the tester retains access to that release.
Delete a group
When you delete a group, all of the testers in that group are removed from all releases that they had access to exclusively via that group. In most cases, group deletion occurs almost immediately; but if you have a large number of testers and releases, the group delete can take longer. After you delete a group, it is no longer listed in the App Distribution page of the Firebase console.
Deleting a group may not take effect immediately; after you delete a group you might temporarily see individual testers from the deleted group listed as having access to a specific release.
To learn how to increase your internal testing base, see Create invite links.
To register additional iOS devices manually or programmatically, see Register additional iOS devices.