Join us in person and online for Firebase Summit on October 18, 2022. Learn how Firebase can help you accelerate app development, release your app with confidence, and scale with ease. Register now

將 Cloud Firestore 與 Firebase 實時數據庫結合使用

透過集合功能整理內容 你可以依據偏好儲存及分類內容。

您可以在應用中同時使用 Firebase 實時數據庫和 Cloud Firestore,並利用每個數據庫解決方案的優勢來滿足您的需求。例如,您可能希望利用實時數據庫對狀態的支持,如在 Cloud Firestore 中構建狀態中所述。

了解有關數據庫之間差異的更多信息。

將數據移動到 Cloud Firestore

如果您決定要將部分數據從實時數據庫遷移到 Cloud Firestore,請考慮以下流程。因為每個數據庫都有獨特的需求和結構考慮,所以沒有自動遷移路徑。相反,您可以遵循以下一般進展:

  1. 將數據結構和安全規則從實時數據庫映射到 Cloud Firestore。實時數據庫和 Cloud Firestore 都依賴 Firebase 身份驗證,因此您無需更改應用的用戶身份驗證。但是,安全規則和數據模型不同,在開始將數據移動到 Cloud Firestore 之前仔細考慮這些差異非常重要。

  2. 移動歷史數據。在 Cloud Firestore 中設置新數據結構時,您可以將現有數據從實時數據庫映射並移動到新的 Cloud Firestore 實例。但是,如果您在應用程序中同時使用這兩個數據庫,則無需將歷史數據移出實時數據庫。

  3. 將新數據實時鏡像到 Firestore。在新的 Cloud Firestore 數據庫添加到實時數據庫時,使用 Cloud Functions 將新數據寫入其中。

  4. 將 Cloud Firestore 設為遷移數據的主數據庫。遷移部分數據後,將 Cloud Firestore 用作主數據庫並減少實時數據庫對遷移數據的使用。考慮仍然與實時數據庫相關聯的應用程序版本以獲取該數據,以及您計劃如何繼續支持它們。

確保您考慮了實時數據庫Cloud Firestore計費費用

映射您的數據

實時數據庫中的數據結構為一棵樹,而 Cloud Firestore 通過文檔、集合和子集合支持更明確的數據層次結構。如果您將部分數據從實時數據庫移動到 Cloud Firestore,您可能需要考慮為您的數據採用不同的架構。

需要考慮的主要差異

如果您將數據從現有實時數據庫樹移至 Cloud Firestore 文檔和集合,請注意數據庫之間的以下主要差異可能會影響您在 Cloud Firestore 中構建數據的方式:

  • 淺查詢在分層數據結構中提供了更大的靈活性。
  • 複雜查詢提供更多粒度並減少對重複數據的需求。
  • 查詢游標提供更健壯的分頁。
  • 事務不再需要所有數據的共同根,而且效率更高。
  • 實時數據庫和 Cloud Firestore 的結算費用不同。在許多情況下,Cloud Firestore 可能比實時數據庫更昂貴,尤其是在您依賴許多小型操作的情況下。考慮減少對數據庫的操作數量並避免不必要的寫入。詳細了解實時數據庫和 Cloud Firestore 之間的計費差異。

最佳實踐

以下示例反映了您在數據庫之間轉移數據時可能需要考慮的一些注意事項。您可以利用淺讀取和改進的查詢功能來獲得比您在實時數據庫中使用的更自然的數據結構。

考慮一個城市指南應用程序,它可以幫助用戶在世界各地的城市中找到著名的地標。由於實時數據庫缺乏淺讀,您可能不得不在兩個頂級節點中構造數據,如下所示:

// /cities/$CITY_KEY
{
  name: "New York",
  population: 8000000,
  capital: False
}

// /city-landmark/$CITY_KEY/$LANDMARK_KEY
{
  name: "Empire State Building",
  category: "Architecture"
}

Cloud Firestore 具有淺讀取,因此查詢集合中的文檔不會從子集合中提取數據。因此,您可以將地標信息存儲在子集合中:

// /cities/$CITY_ID
{
  name: "New York",
  population: 8000000,
  capital: False,
  landmarks: [... subcollection ...]
}

文檔的最大大小為 1MB,這是將地標存儲為子集合的另一個原因,可以使每個城市文檔保持較小,而不是使用嵌套列表來膨脹文檔。

Cloud Firestore 的高級查詢功能減少了為常見訪問模式複制數據的需要。例如,考慮城市指南應用程序中的一個屏幕,顯示按人口排序的所有首府城市。在實時數據庫中,最有效的方法是維護一個單獨的首都城市列表,該列表複製cities列表中的數據,如下所示:

{
   cities: {
    // ...
   },

   capital-cities: {
     // ...
   }
}

在 Cloud Firestore 中,您可以將按人口順序排列的首府城市列表表示為單個查詢:

db.collection('cities')
    .where('capital', '==', true)
    .orderBy('population')

閱讀有關Cloud Firestore 數據模型的更多信息,並查看我們的解決方案,了解有關如何構建 Cloud Firestore 數據庫的更多想法。

保護您的數據

無論您是為 Android、Apple 或網絡客戶端使用Cloud Firestore 安全規則,還是為服務器使用身份訪問管理 (IAM) ,請確保您在 Cloud Firestore 和實時數據庫中保護您的數據。用戶身份驗證由兩個數據庫的身份驗證處理,因此您在開始使用 Cloud Firestore 時無需更改身份驗證的實現。

需要考慮的主要差異

  • 移動和網絡 SDK 使用 Cloud Firestore 安全規則,而服務器 SDK 使用身份訪問管理 (IAM) 來保護數據。
  • Cloud Firestore 安全規則不會級聯,除非您使用通配符。文檔和集合不會繼承規則。
  • 您不再需要單獨驗證數據(就像在實時數據庫中所做的那樣)。
  • Cloud Firestore 在執行查詢之前會檢查規則,以確保用戶對查詢返回的所有數據具有適當的訪問權限。

將歷史數據移至 Cloud Firestore

將數據和安全結構映射到 Cloud Firestore 的數據和安全模型後,您就可以開始添加數據了。如果您計劃在將應用從實時數據庫移至 Cloud Firestore 後查詢歷史數據,請將舊數據的導出添加到新的 Cloud Firestore 數據庫。如果您計劃在應用中同時使用實時數據庫和 Cloud Firestore,則可以跳過此步驟。

為避免用舊數據覆蓋新數據,您可能需要先添加歷史數據。如果您同時向兩個數據庫添加新數據(如下一步所述),請確保優先考慮由 Cloud Functions 添加到 Cloud Firestore 的新數據。

要將歷史數據遷移到 Cloud Firestore,請按以下步驟操作:

  1. 從實時數據庫導出數據或使用最近的備份
    1. 轉到 Firebase 控制台中的實時數據庫部分
    2. 從“數據”選項卡中,選擇數據庫的根級節點,然後從菜單中選擇“導出 JSON ”。
  2. 在 Cloud Firestore 中創建新數據庫並添加數據

    將部分數據移至 Cloud Firestore 時,請考慮以下策略:

    • 編寫一個自定義腳本,為您移植數據。雖然我們無法為此腳本提供模板,但因為每個數據庫都有獨特的需求,我們的Slack 頻道Stack Overflow上的 Cloud Firestore 專家可以查看您的腳本或針對您的具體情況提供建議。
    • 使用服務器 SDK(Node.js、Java、Python 或 Go)將數據直接寫入 Cloud Firestore。有關設置服務器 SDK 的說明,請參閱入門
    • 要加快大型數據遷移,請使用批量寫入並在單個網絡請求中發送多達 500 個操作。
    • 要保持在Cloud Firestore 速率限制之下,請將每個集合的操作限制為 500 次/秒。

向 Cloud Firestore 添加新數據

要保持數據庫之間的一致性,請實時向兩個數據庫添加新數據。每當客戶端寫入實時數據庫時,使用 Cloud Functions 觸發對 Cloud Firestore 的寫入。確保 Cloud Firestore 優先於來自 Cloud Functions 的新數據,而不是您從歷史數據遷移中進行的任何寫入。

每次客戶端將數據寫入實時數據庫時,創建一個函數以將新數據或更改數據寫入 Cloud Firestore。詳細了解 Cloud Functions 的實時數據庫觸發器

將 Cloud Firestore 設為遷移數據的主數據庫

如果您決定使用 Cloud Firestore 作為您的某些數據的主數據庫,請確保考慮到您設置的所有數據鏡像功能並驗證您的 Cloud Firestore 安全規則。

  1. 如果您使用 Cloud Functions 來維護數據庫之間的奇偶校驗,請確保您沒有在循環中跨兩個數據庫重複寫入操作。將您的函數切換為寫入單個數據庫,或完全刪除該函數並開始逐步淘汰仍與實時數據庫相關聯的應用程序中遷移數據的寫入功能。你如何為你的應用處理這個取決於你的特定需求和你的用戶。

  2. 驗證您的數據是否得到適當保護。驗證您的 Cloud Firestore 安全規則或 IAM 設置。

Use Cloud Firestore with Firebase Realtime Database

You can use both Firebase Realtime Database and Cloud Firestore in your app, and leverage each database solution's benefits to fit your needs. For example, you might want to leverage Realtime Database's support for presence, as outlined in Build Presence in Cloud Firestore.

Learn more about the differences between the databases.

Moving data to Cloud Firestore

If you've decided you want to migrate some of your data from Realtime Database to Cloud Firestore, consider the following flow. Because every database has unique needs and structural considerations, there isn't an automated migration path. Instead, you can follow this general progression:

  1. Map the data structure and security rules from Realtime Database to Cloud Firestore. Both Realtime Database and Cloud Firestore rely on Firebase Authentication, so you don't need to change user authentication for your app. However, the security rules and data model are different and it's important to carefully account for those divergences before you start moving data to Cloud Firestore.

  2. Move historical data. As you're setting up your new data structure in Cloud Firestore, you can map and move existing data from Realtime Database to your new Cloud Firestore instance. However, if you're using both databases in your app, you don't need to move historical data out of Realtime Database.

  3. Mirror new data to Firestore in realtime. Use Cloud Functions to write new data to your new Cloud Firestore database as it gets added to Realtime Database.

  4. Make Cloud Firestore your primary database for the migrated data. Once you've migrated some of your data, use Cloud Firestore as your primary database and reduce your Realtime Database use for the migrated data. Consider versions of your app that are still tied to Realtime Database for that data and how you plan to continue supporting them.

Make sure you account for billing costs for both Realtime Database and Cloud Firestore.

Map your data

Data in Realtime Database is structured as a single tree, while Cloud Firestore supports more explicit data hierarchies through documents, collections, and subcollections. If you move some of your data from Realtime Database to Cloud Firestore, you might want to consider a different architecture for your data.

Major differences to consider

If you move data from your existing Realtime Database tree to Cloud Firestore documents and collections, keep in mind the following major differences between the databases that might impact how you structure data in Cloud Firestore:

  • Shallow queries offer more flexibility in hierarchical data structures.
  • Complex queries offer more granularity and reduce the need for duplicate data.
  • Query cursors offer more robust pagination.
  • Transactions no longer require a common root for all your data, and are more efficient.
  • Billing costs differ between Realtime Database and Cloud Firestore. In many cases, Cloud Firestore might be more expensive than Realtime Database, particularly if you rely on many small operations. Consider reducing the number of operations on your database and avoiding unnecessary writes. Learn more about the differences in billing between Realtime Database and Cloud Firestore.

Best practices in action

The following example reflects some of the considerations you might make as you shift your data between databases. You can leverage shallow reads and improved querying capabilities for more natural data structures than you may have used with Realtime Database.

Consider a city guide app that helps users find notable landmarks in cities around the world. Since Realtime Database lacks shallow reads, you might have had to structure the data in two top-level nodes, as follows:

// /cities/$CITY_KEY
{
  name: "New York",
  population: 8000000,
  capital: False
}

// /city-landmark/$CITY_KEY/$LANDMARK_KEY
{
  name: "Empire State Building",
  category: "Architecture"
}

Cloud Firestore has shallow reads, so querying for documents in a collection doesn't pull in data from subcollections. Consequently, you can store landmark information in a subcollection:

// /cities/$CITY_ID
{
  name: "New York",
  population: 8000000,
  capital: False,
  landmarks: [... subcollection ...]
}

Documents have a maximum size of 1MB, which is another reason to store landmarks as a subcollection, keeping each city document small, rather than bloating documents with nested lists.

Cloud Firestore's advanced querying capabilities reduce the need to duplicate data for common access patterns. For example, consider a screen in the city guide app that shows all of the capital cities ordered by population. In Realtime Database, the most efficient way to do this is to maintain a separate list of capital cities that duplicates data from the cities list, as follows:

{
   cities: {
    // ...
   },

   capital-cities: {
     // ...
   }
}

In Cloud Firestore, you can express a list of capital cities in order of population as a single query:

db.collection('cities')
    .where('capital', '==', true)
    .orderBy('population')

Read more about the Cloud Firestore data model and take a look at our Solutions for more ideas on how to structure your Cloud Firestore database.

Secure your data

Whether you're using Cloud Firestore Security Rules for Android, iOS, or Web clients, or Identity Access Management (IAM) for servers, make sure you're securing your data in Cloud Firestore as well as Realtime Database. User authentication is handled by Authentication for both databases, so you don't need to change your implementation of Authentication when you start using Cloud Firestore.

Major differences to consider

  • Mobile and web SDKs use Cloud Firestore Security Rules, while server SDKs use Identity Access Management (IAM) to secure data.
  • Cloud Firestore Security Rules don't cascade unless you use a wildcard. Documents and collections don't otherwise inherit rules.
  • You no longer need to validate data separately (as you did in Realtime Database).
  • Cloud Firestore checks rules before executing a query to make sure that the user has the appropriate access for all data returned by the query.

Move historical data to Cloud Firestore

Once you've mapped your data and security structures to Cloud Firestore's data and security models, you can start adding your data. If you plan to query historical data after you move your app from Realtime Database to Cloud Firestore, add an export of your old data to your new Cloud Firestore database. If you plan to use both Realtime Database and Cloud Firestore in your app, you can skip this step.

To avoid overwriting new data with old data, you might want to add your historical data first. If you add new data to both databases simultaneously, as discussed in the next step, make sure you give precedence to new data added to Cloud Firestore by Cloud Functions.

To migrate historical data to Cloud Firestore, follow these steps:

  1. Export your data from Realtime Database or use a recent backup.
    1. Go to the Database section in the Firebase console.
    2. From the Data tab, select your database's root-level node and select Export JSON from the menu.
  2. Create your new database in Cloud Firestore and add your data.

    Consider the following strategies as you move some of your data to Cloud Firestore:

    • Write a custom script that ports your data for you. While we can't offer a template for this script, because every database will have unique needs, Cloud Firestore experts on our Slack channel or on Stack Overflow can review your script or offer advice for your specific situation.
    • Use the server SDKs (Node.js, Java, Python, or Go) to write data directly to Cloud Firestore. For instructions on setting up the server SDKs, see Get Started.
    • To expedite large data migrations, use batched writes and send up to 500 operations in a single network request.
    • To stay under Cloud Firestore rate limits, limit operations to 500 writes/second for each collection.

Add new data to Cloud Firestore

To maintain parity between your databases, add new data to both databases in realtime. Use Cloud Functions to trigger a write to Cloud Firestore whenever a client writes to Realtime Database. Make sure that Cloud Firestore gives precedence to new data coming from Cloud Functions over any writes you're making from your historical data migration.

Create a function to write new or changing data to Cloud Firestore every time a client writes data to Realtime Database. Learn more about Realtime Database triggers for Cloud Functions.

Make Cloud Firestore your primary database for the migrated data

If you've decided to use Cloud Firestore as your primary database for some of your data, make sure you account for any data-mirroring functions you've set up and validate your Cloud Firestore Security Rules.

  1. If you used Cloud Functions to maintain parity between your databases, make sure you're not duplicating write operations across both databases in a loop. Switch your function to write to a single database, or remove the function completely and start phasing out write functionality for the migrated data in apps still tied to Realtime Database. How you handle this for your app depends on your specific needs and your users.

  2. Verify that your data is properly secured. Validate your Cloud Firestore Security Rules or IAM setup.

Send feedback about...

Need help? Visit our support page.