Google is committed to advancing racial equity for Black communities. See how.

Manage releases for your site

When you deploy new content to your site, you create a "release" that points to a specific version of content and configuration for your site. Each version has a unique version identifier.

From your Firebase project's Hosting page, you can see a full history of your releases in a Release history table. If you have multiple Hosting sites, click View for the desired site to see its release history.

Roll back to a previous version of your site

You can roll back to serve a previous version of your site. This action is useful if your current release has an issue and you want to roll back to serve a known working version of your site. Or perhaps your site served temporary content for a holiday or special event, but now you want to roll back to serve your "regular" content.

By rolling back, you create a new release that serves the same version of content as a previous release. In your Release history table, both releases will list the same version identifier.

Here's how to roll back:

  1. In the Release History table for your site, hover over the previous release entry that you want to roll back to.

  2. Click , then select Roll back.

Limit the number of releases to keep

Each time you create a new release, the content from the previous release is kept in your project's Hosting storage. This enables you to roll back to a previous version of your site, if needed.

Limiting the number of releases to keep is helpful in controlling the usage level of Hosting storage for your project. You can monitor your Hosting storage from the Storage tab of your project's Hosting page in the console.

When you set a limit for the number of releases to keep for a site, the content of any releases over your set limit is scheduled for deletion, starting with the oldest releases first.

Here's how to set the release storage limit for your site:

  1. In the Release History table for your site, click in the table, then select Release storage settings.

  2. Enter the number of releases that you'd like to keep, then click Save.

Manually delete a release

You might need to manually delete a release to free up Hosting storage for your project. You can only delete previous releases, not the release currently being served.

  1. In the Release History table for your site, hover over the previous release entry that you want to delete.

  2. Click , then select Delete.